Mom, I’m going to be late…

Occasionally I get a glimpse into what my children will be like in the future.  I got another glimpse this morning when my oldest added an alarm to my phone to remind me of something I need to do today, while my youngest claimed she’d lost her pants, again.  

Christmas Eve, 2032

*a telephone rings

HALIA:  Hello?

MOM:  Hey, Squish!  I was just calling about dinner tomorrow

HALIA: *sighs  Yes, I just sent the file to you.  I’ll be leaving my place at 3:07pm, which means I’ll arrive at 4:30pm.  In the file is the route I plan on taking, as well as a link so you can follow my progress on the way.  I didn’t recieve your meal plan for tomorrow, so I took it upon myself to order in some groceries yesterday.  Did you recieve them?

MOM: Yes, I did, but –

HALIA:  I also included the recipes in the file.

MOM:  You know, I have done this before, Halia…

HALIA:  Yes, I know you have, Mom.  I just want to make it easier for you.  I’ve sent notifications to your phone to let you know what time to preheat the oven and when to start cooking the turkey.  I’ll take care of the veggies when I get there.  

MOM:  I was thinking we could have…

HALIA:  We are having turkey, Mom.  No substitutes this year.  

MOM:  OK, fine.  Have you heard from your sister?

HALIA:  No, but I did locate her phone.  

MOM:  Oh, where is she?

HALIA:  Maybe you should just call her.  I’m sick of having the same conversation with her.  

MOM:  OK.  I’ll see you tomorrow

*a telephone rings

LEONA:  Mom!

MOM:  Hey Squeakers!  Halia told me to call you about Christmas dinner.  

LEONA:  Yes, for sure!  When is that?

MOM:  On Christmas day, of course.

LEONA:  Oh, yeah, I knew that…

MOM:  That’s tomorrow.

LEONA:  Oh, um, I’m going to be late.  

MOM:  I haven’t told you the time yet.

LEONA:  Yeah, um, Mom, the thing is…

Hang on…

*there’s rustling over the phone and Leona speaks to someone nearby

Excuse me, could you tell me where I am?  

Are you sure?

Well, yes, I suppose most people would be sure of where they live

*Leona comes back to speak to Mom again

The thing is, I’m in New Delhi  

Mom, are you still there?

MOM:  Oh, Leona…

LEONA:  Mom, I can explain!  I’ll be there for New Years!  I promise!

MOM: That’s in a week.

LEONA:  Make that Valentine’s Day.

MOM:  Just bring me back something nice.

LEONA: Speaking of buying things…

MOM: *sighs  Yes, I’ll send some money.  

LEONA:  Thanks Mom  

Published by

Amanda M

Vegan most of the time. Mother all the time. Super Woman in my free time. I am currently an events manager with a retail chain, and am working my way into freelance writing. I've had my first book 'Go to Sleep, Leona!' recently published, and am currently working on more fiction pieces.

Leave a Reply

