“Suicide is Painless”

The Chicago Ambassador

A column by Michael Lopez. 

Photo by Megan Boguszko. Photo by Megan Boguszko.

Despite the lyrics to the famous song, what I know now and what I believe now is that nothing about suicide is painless. The act itself may be brief and painless, with death coming like a whisper to take you away into the unknown. However, the profound grief, despair and pain that lead one to such a desperate act of self loathing must be excruciating beyond belief. And yet, sometimes it can be so easily masked by a façade of peace and calm. As one of many who have experienced the loss of a dear friend from suicide, I can tell you I didn’t see or feel it coming. I had no intuition and no sixth sense. And it left a wake of grief, sadness and questions as you can imagine. In short, suicide is devastating and thousands of families have…

View original post 723 more words

Published by

Amanda M

Vegan most of the time. Mother all the time. Super Woman in my free time. I am currently an events manager with a retail chain, and am working my way into freelance writing. I've had my first book 'Go to Sleep, Leona!' recently published, and am currently working on more fiction pieces.

One thought on ““Suicide is Painless””

  1. This was a great article to read… the pain it leaves behind for those who lose someone to Suicide is profound (and never ending). The one suffering, is enduring such absolutely unbearable circumstances or feelings for it to bring them to the act of suicide. Our family has lost 2 relatives and 1 friend to suicide… it certainly remains to be painful for us. For me the sad feeling of helplessness looms over me that I never knew of their pain until it was too late.

    Like

Leave a Reply

