Vroom

I don’t own a car.  I have no intention of owning a car.   I live a city big enough to have a transit system and no reason to move to a place that doesn’t.  And people think I’m crazy.

I’ve heard strange arguments, about owning a car would mean i wouldn’t need to be as organized as I am.  I”m not sure how, since it seems I would just be trading one set of organization for another.  I’ve heard that I’m missing out on things because I don’t have a car, but considering most of those people haven’t even left the country, never mind travelled as much as I have, I’m pretty sure I’m doing ok.  I’ve also just had people who were completely baffled with my choice, can’t fathom how I function without one.

I can’t afford a car.  And I don’t mean in the sense of not having enough money, I mean in the sense that I can’t afford to give up my current lifestyles just so I can have a luxury of having a car.

Let’s do some math.

The average cost of car insurance in Ontario where I live was $1544 in 2012.  If i were to purchase a 10-year-old ford taurus car, and use the calculator here, it would cost me about $4940 per year to own a car. That’s about $370 a month… I currently spend approx $118 per month so owning a car would only three times as much.  And in the summer, my transportation costs are even less because I walk and bike everywhere.

Owning cars have hidden costs that most people take into consideration.  If a car person runs out of milk, they drive to the grocery store, pick up milk, and probably a bunch of other things as well and goes home.  If I run out of (soy) milk, I wait until the next time I plan to do a grocery run.  I do without.

You know what else car people do?  Shop.  Out of boredom.  That saves me a ton too.

I find car people become too dependant on their car.  If their car is busted, they are trapped in their house.  Car problems, well, they just don’t go to work.  I actually had a friend who cancelled an outing with me, because they had lent their car to someone else.  Meanwhile there was a bus stop in front of their house, and they were meeting me at the bus station.

So, yes, I may be crazy for not owning a car.  And yes, random spontaneous road trips to the beach are out of the question.  But I don’t have the stress of owning a car.  And my car doesn’t make me broke.  A small sacrifice as far as I’m concerned.

What are your thoughts?  Have I overlooked something huge in my protest to own a car?  Thoughts are welcome.

Published by

Amanda M

Vegan most of the time. Mother all the time. Super Woman in my free time. I am currently an events manager with a retail chain, and am working my way into freelance writing. I've had my first book 'Go to Sleep, Leona!' recently published, and am currently working on more fiction pieces.

One thought on “Vroom”

  1. You have given me something to think about. I am that person who is dependent of my car… if it’s broken down I hibernate, thus I get it repaired the same day I hear or find a problem. For me it gives me a sense of independence and control over my small area of my life, a luxury I can’t imagine living without. As a student I bused and cabbed everywhere, that meant sometimes standing in the rain (resulting in Pneumonia) Owning a car gives me the freedom to do spontaneous things and go places, but you make a strong point it also sets me up to spend money I probably should not be spending….hmm, maybe I will try it for the summer, walking, biking and see what kind of a difference it makes for the better. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

