Kathy Reichs – Bare Bones Book Review

Bare Bones by Kathy Reichs
There are two things I would like you to keep in mind while reading this review.
This is the first book I’ve read not only in the ‘Bones’ series, but also by Kathy Reichs.  Yes, I know its not the first book in the series.  Yes, I know I probably should have started at the beginning of series, especially since it seems to refer to fleeting images I can only imagine are from previous books in the series.  But I don’t like being told where to go.
Secondly, I have watched pretty much all of the TV series which was inspired by this book series.  And while I am acutely aware that the book and its screen version are never the same, it was hard to adjust from the TV version of the Tempe Brennan to the book version.
I like when books start immediatly with action, instead of a slow winding, and with a dead body right off the hop, my interest was peaked right away.  Sadly it didnt stay there.
Written in the first person, I had a hard time grasping the personality of this woman.  In certain ways she seemed overly clinical and annoyed me with phrases like ‘memory cells… expand the image…’  But her interior monolgue seemed to be sensitive.  The narrative voice is choppy and abrupt.  I can’t say whether this is to add to the character of Tempe Brennan or of the author of herself.
Perhaps it was done in previous books, and Kathy expected it to carry forward for the remainder of the series, however I found the character development seems rather linear with characters that seem to play a significant role to the plot.  What’s the deal with Ryan?  Is he a boy toy? Is she the one being used? Are the a couple?
I felt the story was a bit researched to death.  I get that information that is needed to help the plot progress move along must to be presented in to the reader somehow… but I find it hard to believe that Dr. Brennan wouldn’t know about Diatoms.  Seriously?
The ending was the biggest let down for me.  The action gets good, Brennan escapes from a near death experience, the mystery is unravelled, only to have the cop she doesn’t even like put the pieces together for her while she’s in the hospital.  And then that Ryan guy appears again, goes to a beach with her, fills her in on how the whole kerfuffle unfolded… and she rants about endangered species.   The end.
It wasn’t terrible, and I did read through it fairly quickly.   But I’m not sure I’ll be reaching for another dose right away…  Maybe next month.

Published by

Amanda M

Vegan most of the time. Mother all the time. Super Woman in my free time. I am currently an events manager with a retail chain, and am working my way into freelance writing. I've had my first book 'Go to Sleep, Leona!' recently published, and am currently working on more fiction pieces.

Leave a Reply

