Carrot and Chestnut Gazpacho

This is one of things that started off as an idea, and then ended up becoming something different in the end.
I started off wanting a creamy carrot soup with a hint of walnut.
But since the store was out of walnuts, chestnuts became my new inspiration.
And then I discovered I actually like it better cold…

4 cups veggie broth
4 cuos water
3 cups chopped celery
2 medium onions, chopped
3 lbs carrot, peeled and chopped
1 pound chestnuts, roasted, peeled and chopped. (It works out to be about a cup.)
1/2 tsp each; celery salt, sage, cinnamon
1 tbsp each; garlic powder, brown sugar, vinegar, nutritional yeast
1/4 tsp each; nutmeg, ginger

Cook all item in a crock pot until carrots are tender. Blend with a stick blender or in a food processer until smooth.
This taste lovely with a nice piece of crusty bread.

If you aren’t sure how to roast chestnuts, there is a good tutorial on the Martha Stewart website.

Published by

Amanda M

Vegan most of the time. Mother all the time. Super Woman in my free time. I am currently an events manager with a retail chain, and am working my way into freelance writing. I've had my first book 'Go to Sleep, Leona!' recently published, and am currently working on more fiction pieces.

Leave a Reply

