Amanda’s Split Pea Soup

Not me, another Amanda.  My co-worker infact.  She mentioned how she loved split pea soup, so I decided I should give it a try.  (I think I was a little kid that last time I had it, so I truly was making it up as I went.)

Amanda’s Split Pea Soup

4 Cups Veggie Broth

6 Cups water

1 cup tomato juice

2 cups dried split peas

1 carrot, chopped

2 celery ribs, chopped

1/2 cup nutrional yeast

1tbsp dijon mustard

2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 cup finely chopped spinach

2 cups extra firm, chopped tofu

Add all of the ingredients, except tofu and spinach to the crock pot, and cook on high until peas are tender and much easily.  Take about a third of the mixture (or more if you want it extra creamy) and blend.  Once the blended mixture is added back into the crock pot, stir, and add tofu and spinach to the mix.  Cook until tofu is hot and spinach is whilted.

If you are using freshly made tomato juice, I would recommend adding a bit of salt or soy sauce to the mixture.

I think next time I make it, I might add a potato or two in there.

I served these with some kale chips (but I added more of the seasoning to the kale, but omitted the herbamare cause I don’t really know what it is.)
Enjoy!

Published by

Amanda M

Vegan most of the time. Mother all the time. Super Woman in my free time. I am currently an events manager with a retail chain, and am working my way into freelance writing. I've had my first book 'Go to Sleep, Leona!' recently published, and am currently working on more fiction pieces.

Leave a Reply

